Real Estate Taxes

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Real Estate Tax General Information

Loudoun County is assuming responsibility for billing, collecting and administering real estate taxes for five of Loudoun County’s seven incorporated towns, including the Town of  Leesburg.  The change in process will be effective January 1, 2019, for real estate taxes. 


Under the new centralized system, residents and businesses in the Town of Leesburg will no longer receive two separate bills with separate due dates for county and town property taxes. Instead, residents and businesses will receive one bill listing both the county and town taxes. This will result in taxpayers making a single payment made payable to the County of Loudoun. Collection, billing and administering of both county and town real estate taxes will be effective with the first half real estate tax bill due June 5, 2019. 


The  Loudoun County Treasurer’s Office will process the tax payments and remit the appropriate amount to the town. The Treasurer’s Office will also undertake any collection efforts for accounts which may become delinquent after the January 1, 2019, effective date. The town will continue with delinquent collection efforts for any real estate taxes due for 2018 and for years prior to 2018.  

More information about taxes in Loudoun County may be found at 




Real Estate Assessments

The Loudoun County Commissioner of the Revenue provides annual assessments of real estate within the Town of Leesburg in January of each year, based on fair market value. Real estate taxes are calculated on 100 percent of assessed value.  

For questions concerning assessments, contact the Loudoun County Commissioner of the Revenue.

Tax Relief eligibility is determined by Loudoun County. Applications for tax relief must be submitted to Loudoun County.

 Return to Top



Delinquent Tax Penalties

The Town is collecting delinquent tax payments for 2018 and earlier ONLY.  2019 and later payments, even if delinquent, will be collected by Loudoun County. 

The Town of Leesburg will charge a 10% penalty for delinquent taxes. In addition, 10% annual interest will be charged on unpaid tax balances. Interest begins to accrue on the first day of the month following the due date. The penalty for delinquent taxes is a $2 minimum or 10 percent of the taxes due, whichever is greater, but not to exceed the amount of the tax.

Please visit our Real Estate Tax Payment Options page for more information.

Return to Top



Frequently Asked Questions

Please visit our Finance Department FAQs page for a list of frequently asked questions related to Real Estate Taxes.