About the Commission

The Thomas Balch Library Commission advises the Library Director on collection development and library policies. The Commission helps publicize the Thomas Balch Library and work with the Friends of the Thomas Balch Library to promote and support library programs and collections. The Commission sponsors the annual Loudoun History Awards, which are presented each November, and an Excellence in Historical Research at the Loudoun County Public Schools' annual Social Science Fair.


Commission Members

Thomas Balch Library Commission 2017
Term Ends
James H. Hershman, Jr., Chair 2018
Donna Bohanon 2020
Eileen Axeman 2018
Martha Schonberger 2020
Mary Pellicano 2020
Tom Jewell 2018
Russ Woolard 2018
Kristen C. Umstattd, Board of Supervisors Rep TERM

Ron Campbell, Council Liason



Group Email Address:  BalchLibraryCommission@leesburgva.gov

Staff Liaison: Library Director Alexandra S. Gressitt accepts correspondence on behalf of the Commission.

Meeting Packets

Additional Thomas Balch Library Commission documents, including approved meeting minutes, are available for download here. For previous years' meeting packets and minutes, contact the Staff Liaison.