John W. Tolbert Jr. Environmental Award

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Each year, the Leesburg Environmental Advisory Commission (EAC) accepts nominations for the John W. Tolbert Jr. Environmental Award. Nominations are accepted in December and the award is presented during the first quarter of the following year. 

Nominations for the Tolbert Award

If there is an individual, student, group, or business you think has demonstrated a commitment to protecting the Leesburg environment, nominate them for the annual Tolbert Environmental Award.

Tolbert Nomination Form 

The EAC and Town Council present the award to individuals, community groups, businesses, and students who benefit the Town’s environment by conducting or participating in activities such as:

  • Participation in recycling and use of recycled or repurposed materials, including composting, collection programs, etc.
  • Pollution prevention
  • Waste reduction
  • Protection of the natural environment
  • Enhancement of the natural environment
  • Cleanup of litter or debris
  • Beautification
  • Environmental education
  • Monitoring the condition of Leesburg’s environment, such as streams, habitat, etc.

The EAC and the Town of Leesburg recognize that these activities are vital to sustaining the quality and health of our community and significantly contribute to the long-term well-being of our Town for generations to come. They have presented the award to the following for their environmental stewardship and commitment: 

Recipients of the Tolbert Environmental Award

2019 Tycho Svoboda

2018  Fran Grozier

2017  Hasina Siddiq

2016  Plum Grove (Re)Cyclery

2015  Tuscarora High School Environmental Initiatives

2014  Wks Family and Cub Scout Pack 982

2013  Loudoun County High School Ecology Club and Chick-fil-A

2012  Chiara Solitario, Felicity Francis and Julie Gurnee

2011  Natalie Pien and The Ecology Club at Smart's Mill Middle School

2010  Doner Bistro

2009  David Fuller and Kincaid Forest HOA

2008  Elizabeth Coates, Emily Zatorski and South Street Under

2007  Nicole Hamilton and The Loudoun County Master Gardeners Demonstration Team

2006  Charles G. “Chuck” Jones, The Kincaid Forest HOA, Save the Trail, and Gem Bingol

2005  Loudoun Country Day School and Loudoun Soil and Water Conservation District


History of the John W. Tolbert, Jr. Environmental Award

The Tolbert Award honors the life of John W. Tolbert, Jr.  A county resident since 1931 who served the Town and Loudoun County and enriched the lives of its residents. Mr. Tolbert was the first African American elected to the Town Council where he served for 14 years.  He served as Vice Mayor from 1988 to 1990. At the time of his death in December 1999, Mr. Tolbert was chairman of the EAC. 

This survey has been closed. Click here to go to the full list.