About the Board of Zoning Appeals

BZA Group Photo edited

The Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) hears and decides cases for variance requests, appeals of administrative decisions, and appeals of zoning map interpretations. The BZA is a quasi-judicial body whose members are appointed by the Chief Judge of Loudoun County Circuit Court for 5-year terms.

Board Members

Term Ends
Peter Vanderloo, Chair 2020
Christopher Colsey, Vice Chair  2019
 Joseph Carter 2023
Susan Moffett 2021
Martha Mason Semmes 2022


Group Email Address: BZA@leesburgva.gov

Staff Liaison: Rob Walton, Assistant Zoning Administrator, accepts correspondence on behalf of the Board.

Board Documents

Please note that the submission filing deadline is 5 weeks prior to a scheduled meeting at 5pm, and the publication deadline for the public notice is the Friday prior to the newspaper publication date. The 2019 BZA Meeting Schedule lists the filing and public notice deadlines for each meeting.