News Archive

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Town of Leesburg news releases are automatically archived after 90 days. The website archive includes news releases from 2018 to the present. Older news releases can be found here.

New Sculpture to Be Unveiled at Eric Brown Skate Plaza in Catoctin Park

Post Date:09/27/2019 9:15 AM
skate park sculptureLeesburg, VA (September 27, 2019) – The Leesburg Commission on Public Art (COPA) invites the public to attend the unveiling of a new skate park themed sculpture at the entrance of Catoctin Park (141 Catoctin Circle, SE) on Saturday, October 5, 2019 beginning at 10 a.m. 

World-renowned sculptor Jeffrey L. Hall, of Lovettsville, is the artist behind the new 13-foot high piece of art. He is also the sculptor of the Stanley Caulkins sculpture in downtown Leesburg. 

Earlier this year, the Leesburg Town Council approved the artwork, which depicts silhouettes of skateboarders, in-line skaters, and BMX bikers. At its center, the sculpture bears a silhouette of the skate plaza’s namesake, Eric Brown, the driving force behind fundraising for the initial skate park. 

Hall was responsible for design, production, and complete installation of the artwork. The Friends of Leesburg Public Arts commissioned the project with funding from the Town of Leesburg, Virginia Commission on the Arts, O'Shaughnessy-Hurst Foundation, Keane Enterprises, and Visit Loudoun. 

The public is encouraged to attend the official unveiling, which will take place beginning at 10 a.m. Light refreshments will follow. To learn more visit

The Eric Brown Skate Plaza is located in Catoctin Park. It is an approximately 12,000 square foot concrete skate plaza. Features include a bowl, vertical wall, rails, benches, and other street elements. The skate plaza is named in honor of skating enthusiast and park supporter Eric Brown who, as a teenager, was instrumental in the creation of the original Catoctin Skate Park in 1998.

Media Contact:
Leah Kosin
Assistant Public Information Officer
Return to full list >>