News Archive

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Town of Leesburg news releases are automatically archived after 90 days. The website archive includes news releases from 2017 to the present. Older news releases can be found here.

Leesburg Town Council Creates Committee to Review Town’s Economic Development Goals and Strategy

Volunteers representing residents and businesses needed to serve on the committee.

Post Date:05/09/2017 9:54 AM

Leesburg, VA (May 9, 2017 | CORRECTED) – The Leesburg Town Council has created a special committee charged with reviewing the Town’s past and current economic development efforts and policies and making recommendations for future goals, strategy and policy. The committee will work over the summer to gather input from a broad cross-section of the community and beyond and will report its findings and recommendations to the Town Council in October.

Sharon L. Babbin, a member of the Town’s Planning Commission, has been selected to chair the committee. Mrs. Babbin brings to this position 40 years of experience gained in practicing law which included land use and business development for major corporations such as Marriott International and Benchmark Hospitality.

“My goal is for this new committee to craft a plan to overcome and break down the barriers so that the Town of Leesburg can achieve its full potential,” she said.

The Economic Development Steering Committee will consist of two non-voting Leesburg Town Council members, two members of the Leesburg Planning Commission, one member of the Leesburg Economic Development Commission, two representatives of the Leesburg business community and two Leesburg residents. The members already appointed are Council Member Ron Campbell, Council Member Marty Martinez, Planning Commissioner Sharon Babbin, Planning Commissioner Rick Lanham and Economic Development Commissioner Tosha Woodard. The three voting committee members will select the remaining four members.

Members of the business community and Leesburg residents are invited to submit letters of interest and résumés for consideration. Business community representatives must be owners of businesses or commercial property within the corporate limits of the Town. Selected committee members must be available for weekly meetings through October 2017. Letters of interest and résumés should be submitted to Scott Parker at by Sunday, May 21, 2017.

Media Contact:
Betsy Arnett
Public Information Officer 

Return to full list >>