News Archive

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

News releases are automatically archived after 90 days. The website archive includes news releases from 2014 through the present. Older news releases can be found here.

Leesburg Economic Development Review Committee Selects Final Members

Post Date:06/05/2017 10:12 AM

Leesburg, VA (June 5, 2017) – Leesburg’s new Economic Development Review Steering Committee chose its final four committee members at its working session last Wednesday. The Town Council resolution creating the committee required two members from the business community and two of Leesburg’s residents be added to the members already appointed.

The business community representatives chosen are Charlie Keiler, of Kettler, which manages the Village at Leesburg, and Rick Allison, owner of the King Street Oyster Bar in downtown Leesburg. Brett Burk, a business owner and former long-time member of the Leesburg Planning Commission, and David Faliskie, President and COO of EIT, an electronics manufacturing business that recently moved its headquarters into the Town, are the town resident representatives. They join the previously appointed members of the committee, Rick Lanham and Sharon Babbin of the Planning Commission, Tosha Woodard of the Economic Development Committee, and non-voting members Ron Campbell and Marty Martinez, who are members of the Town Council.

“We were extremely fortunate to be able to choose from such strong applicants for our committee. The new members’ presence adds significant expertise and experience to our group,” said Sharon Babbin, who serves as the committee chair. “We will proceed quickly to investigate what works, and what doesn’t, to stimulate economic development in our town,” she added.

The full committee will meet for the first time on Wednesday, June 14, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. at Town Hall. The committee’s meetings are open to the public.

Media Contact:
Betsy Arnett
Public Information Officer 

Return to full list >>